

LONDON BOROUGH OF BRENT

MINUTES OF THE GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE Tuesday 31 May 2016 at 7.00 pm

PRESENT: Councillor Butt (Chair) and Councillors Colwill, Farah, Hirani, Kabir (for McLennan), W Mitchell Murray and Southwood

Also present: Councillors Chohan

Apologies for absence were received from: Councillors McLennan and Mashari

1. Declarations of personal and prejudicial interests

None declared.

2. Minutes of the previous meeting

RESOLVED:-

that the minutes of the previous meeting held on 31 March 2016 be approved as an accurate record of the meeting.

3. **Matters arising**

None.

4. **Deputations**

None

5. Representation of Political Groups on Committees

The committee considered the report setting out the rules to be applied during the course of reviewing representation of political groups on its sub-committee.

RESOLVED:

- (i) that the size of the sub-committees be noted;
- (ii) that the allocation of seats on the sub-committees to each political group be agreed as follows:

Sub Committee	Size o	of Labour	Conservative	Brent Conservative
	Cttee			

Pension Fun	d 7	6	0	1
Sub-Committee	:			
Senior Sta	ff 5	4	1	0
Appointments				
Sub-Committee				
Staff Appeal	s 5	4	0	1
Sub-Committee				

6. Appointments to Sub-Committees / Outside Bodies

RESOLVED:

That the following appointments be made:

PENSIONS SUB

CHOUDHARY (C)

DALY

KHAN

MILLER

NAHEERATHAN

SHAZHAD

VACANCY

Labour substitutes: DENSELOW, MOHER, PERRIN

PENSIONS BOARD

CRANE

KABIR

David Ewart (C) - Independent Chair

Trevor Dawson - pension scheme member

Bola George – trade union (unison) member

Euton Stewart – trade union (GMB) member

Angela Cattermole – employer member (non-Brent Council)

STAFF APPEALS

BRADLEY

CHOUDRY

MARQUIS

KETAN SHETH (C)

VACANCY

SENIOR STAFF APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

BUTT

MCLENNAN

HIRANI

W MITCHELL MURRAY

COLWILL

Labour substitutes: FARAH, MASHARI, PAVEY, SOUTHWOOD

Conservative substitutes: KANSAGRA, MAURICE

SCHOOL DISCIPLINARY HARRISON W MITCHELL MURRAY

EMPLOYEES' JOINT CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE

EZEAJUGHI
KABIR
MILLER
MCLENNAN (C)
W MITCHELL MURRAY
M PATEL
KRUPA SHETH

Labour substitutes: ADEN, AHMED, HYLTON, NERVA, SHAHZAD, SOUTHWOOD, CHAN, THOMAS

TEACHERS' JOINT CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE

BRADLEY (C)
CONNEELY
CHAN
HARRISON
HODA-BENN
MOHER
TATLER

Labour substitutes: ALLIE, HOSSAIN, KABIR, LONG, MARQUIS, MILLER

7. Any other urgent business

None.

The meeting closed at 7.05 pm

M BUTT Chair